Sighting in your crossbow help?!

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

kwanzanator

Sighting in your crossbow help?!

Post by kwanzanator »

Hey, I am very new to X-bow hunting and I have a couple questions about sighting in the X-bow.

1. Should you start to sight in the X-bow at 20 yards?
2. When I shoot at 20 yards, the arrow hits the target approximately right, but when I move forward to 10 yards, it hits 4 inches above the target and thats with the first point on the scope pointing at the bullseye......is that normal?
3. Also, what does it mean when your arrows are hitting the target at the right hieght, but are all over the place horizontally(eg. Too much to left or too much to the right)

Also any advice would be appreciated.!!
Digger

Post by Digger »

Which xbow are you sighting in and which scope are you using.
Digger
2008 Y25 Relayer #593 Boo string, lumizone
2-1984 Relayer,
2-1992 Wolverine
Excal Phoenix, acudraw, VARizone
T.P. Titan TL4, acudraw 50, Varizone
Vixen, Steddy Eddy, Varizone
Martin Rage
Martin Jaguar
PSE Infinity
kwanzanator

Post by kwanzanator »

I have a Exocet with a Vari-Zone scope.
Exocet77

Post by Exocet77 »

kwanzanator wrote:I have a Exocet with a Vari-Zone scope.
I use the vari-zone with my exocet, check your FPS dial see what its set to, I believe I have mine @ 210-215. Adjust that, then take a few shots from 20 yds and adjust the top screw for up and down (1click for every 1/2") or the side screw for left to right. Then try at 10-30 yards and if so you may have to play with the FPS dial but it should be pretty close.
kwanzanator

Post by kwanzanator »

Sorry, what is the FPS dial?
Divemaster920

Post by Divemaster920 »

One thing that you must use for consistance shots is one of the cocking divices. If you are not using one the arrow will go every where...
CD
Digger

Post by Digger »

This is how you sight in a varizone scope. Exocet77 probably meant 310-315 feet per second.