Expandable BH's OK?

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

trpd345

Expandable BH's OK?

Post by trpd345 »

I had been told in the past that expandable broadheads were not to be shot from a x-bow. Are there any that can be or are all of them ok? I have a BuckMaster Maxpoint that is shooting about 310-315 fps. Thanks!
GaryL

Post by GaryL »

trpd345 I use slicktricks but do a search on the forum here and I know their is a lot of info. on the expandable BH.... :D
ecoaster

Post by ecoaster »

I think the general rule of thumb is to double band the blades so they do not open when leaving the bow.
I hunt for memories, the meat's a bonus!
Golden Eagle

Post by Golden Eagle »

A friend uses Spitfires out of his Horton and always has. With great success I might add.
209x50

Post by 209x50 »

I'm shooting the "grim reaper" no elastics. Testing done by the store owner showed that they did not open before impact....I still have to shoot a deer with one yet though...haopefully on openig day (next Sat)
maple

Post by maple »

NAP Spitfires. No bands, no problems. Easy to clean and reuse after a kill. Fly just like field points. One of the biggest cutting diameters available. Bust through ribs like nobody's business.

Maple
taxman

Post by taxman »

ive shot 7 deer w/ mech bh's this year. 5 were rocket steelheads and 2 were spitfires. both left great holes and bloodtrails. dont believe everything your read about xbows/mechanicals. they will work fine!!!
Hoss

Post by Hoss »