Dog issues

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

Rick

Dog issues

Post by Rick »

Hey guys, need a bit of help here!

I have a dog (small munsterlander pointer) and his nails keep falling off. I mean every one of them.

He has them fall off about every 6 months, 1 at a time and the poor thing is in pain.

Any ideas what it could be?

Open to all information.

Thanks for your help

Rick
Have a good hunt!

Rick
bushmaster

Post by bushmaster »

I go to another site where a vet is a frequent poster. When they fall off, are you talking right down to the quick, so they bleed or what? Give me a few more details and I'll ask him.
Boo

Post by Boo »

I'm not biting,
chris4570

Post by chris4570 »

Definately have it checked out by your vet!! I worked as a vet tech for ten years and can tell you there can be more than one cause for nails falling off. Fungal infections, underlying disease, poor nutrition. Any good vet will tell you they can't diagnose over the phone or in this case over the internet. Without all the facts any guess is a stab in the dark.
You can take the man out of the woods but you can't take the woods out of the man.

"Celebrate your harvest with a Bloodtrail Ale(tm)!!"
"It CAN Be Done!"
Rick

Post by Rick »

Bushmaster: yes some of them fall off right down to the quick, usually they just dry up underneith and the top layer falls off. usually does not result in bleeding.

Boo: niether is he!!!!!!!

Chris: good advise, i was just looking for some ideas with having to pay all the extra. I keep my dog well fed so I know it is not the nutrition issue. [color=blue]It could be a fungal infection[/color]. Had blood work performed on him a couple of years ago and there was no underlying issues.

Anyways, thanks for the help and input
Rick
Have a good hunt!

Rick
Boo

Post by Boo »

Sorry Rick, thought it was going to be a joke.
Do you keep the nails trimmed down really short? Have you tried geletin? It works on people so why not try it on dogs?