handgun hunting

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

M&M

handgun hunting

Post by M&M »

do any of you handgun hunt? I have a tc encore with several barrels and I do deer hunt with it in 44mag. what kind of ammo do you use for deer hunting in your handgun? I have been loading 270grn gold dots for several years but I am thinking of loading up something in the 300gr hard cast variety for next season
M&M
gerald strine

Re: handgun hunting

Post by gerald strine »

I shoot .44cal hornady xtp 300 grain bullets out of my muzzel loader and they preform great.
I am sure they would do well out of your hand gun becouse that is what they were desinged for.
Hunt eat sleep repeat.
Boo

Post by Boo »

I have a Freedom Arms in 44 mag and 454 Casull. Both work efficiently with gas checked bullets with wide meplats made with 50% wheel weights and 50% linotype.

Some people just like stepping on rakes
longwinters

Post by longwinters »

Sorry I have no experience with the venerable 44. I shoot a Contender in 7-30 Waters with 120 Ballistic Tips.

The only thing I don't like about shooting them is the long arm stretch to get correct eye relief. I wish there was a more in between scope so I could bend my arms more. I did take a small 10 pt with it about 8 years ago, at 70 yds, but since have used my 7m08 Sako. Taking that buck with the tender was certainly one of my greatest hunting thrills. Good luck with yours.

Long
bkisel

Post by bkisel »

Hi,

I'll sometimes go out with my Ruger Super Blackhawk (.44 mag) mounted with a fixed 4 power scope. A brother of mine does mild reloads for me which are 240 grains hard cast bullets over ~10 grains of powder (not sure which brand powder).

Take care...
EQUINOXHNTERVA

Post by EQUINOXHNTERVA »