Bolts & FOC

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

RichJ

Bolts & FOC

Post by RichJ »

1st I would like to into myself. I'm new to the "Crossbow World". I have been a over avid Archery Hunter/Archery Pro Shop Manager/Sales Rep/3-D shooter for several years. Due to our great finacial world I have since went back to the normal job world throwing out of the loop of things for the past 3 yrs.
I have searched over the forums looking for the answer to my question just finding bits of info.
I just got a Equinox as a gift. Great shooting bow. A friend lent me some bolts to use from his Exocet. Goldtips with the brass inserts. They seem to shoot really well. Included with my Equinox was the Excalibur Fire Bolts 150gr Bolt Cutter broadheads. I have seen everyone talking up the goldtips with the brass inserts and Slick Tricks ( same set up my friend uses). Other guys I know use a 100 gr Rage on the Fire Bolt WITH OUT the brass insert. FOC has got to be way off with that set up. I have always used expandable heads over the past 18 + yrs. I would LOVE to use a good fixed blade like the Slick Trick Ect. We all have seen somethings dont always get from point A to point B like we like.

Should I return these fire Bolts and run with the GoldTip Bolt?
Broadheads-These 150 grain Bolt Cutters any good? or retun them and run Slick Tricks like I have seen poste everywhere?

After shooting a Goldtip with brass insert and 100gr field point I shot the Fire Bolt with alum insert 150 grain point.
The Gold tip shot about 10 inches lower than the Firebolt at 30 yards. Speed between the 2 isn't a big factor with me we are still talking over 300fps with any setup here. Im looking for a good whitetail / Black Bear killing machine here not a 3-d or paper shooter. This year Im planing on doing a Black Bear hunt and hoping to use the Equinox is pos.

Any feed back good, bad or just plain ugly is welcome
Thanks RichJ
wabi

Re: Bolts & FOC

Post by wabi »