Carbon or aluminum?

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

jackleg

Carbon or aluminum?

Post by jackleg »

I'm new at the whole crossbow thing. I just bought a brand new Equinox and was wondering if I can use the bolts that come with the right stuff package to hunt moose. Is speed better for penetration or is energy? Should I buy heavier aluminum? Just want feedback. Thanks. Regards.
Equinox
GTII's 2" blazers
Ground pounder mount
gerald strine

Re: Carbon or aluminum?

Post by gerald strine »

I think the carbons will be fine get some brass inserts for them and increase the penetration.
Hunt eat sleep repeat.
Wide8pt

Post by Wide8pt »

Welcome! Most all of the excals come with enough fire power to take a moose. After bow hunting moose for years,learning the hard way,one piece of advice I can give you is get some good quality broadheads, preferably fixed blade with 1.25" cut. You have some time so experiment and enjoy!
Exocet 200
Boo String
Rage 3 Blade
GT Laser II's
warningshot

Post by warningshot »

most carbon will fly straighter and faster than aluminum......
vixenmaster

Post by vixenmaster »

I won't tell you which is better as i don't knowed the answer. I own & shoot both. As fer the weight each can be made lite or heavy same with being straight.
Half Bubble Off BD360

[email protected] 417-505-9315
crazyfarmer

Post by crazyfarmer »

its just a matter of what you like.. both can do the job;)

I like carbon since I dont have to worry about checking arrows to see if they are bent.
wabi

Post by wabi »

warningshot wrote:most carbon will fly straighter and faster than aluminum......
Have to disagree with that comment!
The material the arrow is made of has little or nothing to do with accuracy. Longbows do just fine with wood arrows, and wood - fiberglass - aluminum - carbon have all been used with good results over the years.