aluminum vs. carbon

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

warren

aluminum vs. carbon

Post by warren »

Hi Guys ,
I have been using 2117 aluminum arrows with my 150lb Wolverine since I bought it 20 years ago . What kind of velocity increase can I expect by switching to carbon arrows ? Would I still use 125 grain points ?

Thanks in advance :) ,
Warren
Limbs and Sticks

Re: aluminum vs. carbon

Post by Limbs and Sticks »

Weighing the same no diff, either liter than the other will be a difference, those 2117 aren't broke why change? sorry welcome to the forum

Wes
"Maxine"
1.75x5 Burris scope
Boo string
STS
Feathered easton 2020's
Magnus stingers
Migabby

Post by Migabby »

I am not new to archery but I'm new to Crossbows. I shot Aluminum Arrows for at least 30 years and Cedar Shafts before that, but last year was my first year shooting Carbons and I'm darned impressed, I'm am shooting GT Lazer II Shafts 20" long with Brass inserts and 100 gr. heads about 405 gr. total weight. Give them a try or any carbon of your choice, I not impressed with the composite Shafts, "Carbon wrapped Aluminum". Stick with Carbon JMO.

Migabby
Gold Tips
Slicks
Proud Groundpounder Mount Owner
Proud Boo String Owner
warren

Post by warren »

Thanks guys ,
The reason I asked is that I recently switched from aluminium to carbon with my compound bow and had great results . The carbon had less wobble in flight and seemed to have a stiffer spine , yet they are faster .
I was wondering if there was the same improvement with bolts .

Warren
RichJ

Post by RichJ »