Broken bolts

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

End of the road

Broken bolts

Post by End of the road »

Hello everyone,

I have been lurking in the background for a while and finally decided to register. I’m a middle aged newbie that has wanted to get in to archery and hunting since high school. I felt it was about time, did a lot of research and bought an Exocet 200 earlier this year. Also took my hunter classes, joined my local rod and gun club and worked a bit with their instructor, and got my first hunting license. I have lots to learn and hope you all can answer a few questions from time to time.

I have been shooting the Firebolt carbons that came with the bow with 125 grain field points for sighting in and target work. I have been having some thoughts about staying with the carbons or going with aluminum for hunting. All the vertical bow hunters I know use aluminum, maybe because of the cost difference, but I have read about carbon bolts splintering. I have splintered a bolt but admit that it was my fault and it hit a rock. Otherwise I have had no real problems.

I know that a lot of bolt selection is personal preference but has anyone experienced a broken carbon inside an animal and should a newbie stay with the Firebolt or make a switch to aluminum? If I switch, what would you recommend switching to? I am pretty comfortable shooting to about 25 yards but not too much beyond at this point.

Thanks for your help
RichJ

Re: Broken bolts

Post by RichJ »

I would stay with carbon 100% over Aluminum. They are either straight or broken. The only guys I see running aluminum on a vertical bow are the ones who are set in their ways and fear change. Goto any archery shop across the country and they will prob ALL agree that carbon arrows make up about 80% of arrow sales.
Carbon bolts will outlast aluminum several times around.
wabi

Post by wabi »

I would stay with aluminum 100% over carbon. I've had a carbon break when shot through a deer.