Repair Unraveled string?

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

knobby

Repair Unraveled string?

Post by knobby »

I allowed my dad to use my Exocet 200 last week. While attempting to uncock the bow by hand, the string slipped from his grip and he sort of dry fired it. I guess you could say it was 1/2 a dry fire since he did hang on to it for long enough to slow it down a little before it slipped.

Anyway his mishap broke the serving. While attempting to replace the string with a new Excalibur Flemish string the new string apparently got untwisted enough that it slipped as soon as the stringer was off.

One end is still intact....the other slipped quite a bit but not completely apart.

Can this string be repaired/retwisted? Or am I out the $30 it cost

I studied the end of an old Flemish string trying to understand how it is made but so far it is escaping me. So if anyone can explain it or point me to some detailed instructions I would greatly appreciate it.

thx!
Rob
georgiaboy

Re: Repair Unraveled string?

Post by georgiaboy »

Sorry...can't help you with the in's and out's in the string dept.! But from what I have read in this forum BOO is the guru of all thing's string related! I personally would just replace the string and chalk it up to stuff happen's!! Not worth the risk! Good luck!
Bulldog m380 blackout
Micro 355
Matrix 350LE
Vixen II
Proud member of the Georgia Meat Hunter's Association
"Shooting tomorrow's trophy's...today"
wabi

Post by wabi »

Yes a flemish string can have a loop re-twisted.

But....................
It's not easy to get it to look like new. :roll:

This video might help - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=24-J-RpbxFo
wabi
awshucks

Post by awshucks »

Oh? Factory FFF? $30? wow! Call Danny, he made it. [740] 483 2312. Ask him how much he charges for them while you are at it.
"Eze 18:21"
knobby

Post by knobby »