First Crossbow - choosing between Axiom & Equinox

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

Skoal Brother

First Crossbow - choosing between Axiom & Equinox

Post by Skoal Brother »

I just sold my compound bow and am looking forward to purchasing my first crossbow. Not sure which package to go with either the Axiom (305fps) or the Equinox (350fps) The axiom is $250 lss expensive but has a 14% slower speed.

Im very new to using a crossbow and have only shot a compund crossbow a couple of times. Do I need the extra speed? Does the bolt have a flatter trajectory, say from 10-25 yrds is the aiming point the same between these distances. Or should I save the $$ and go with the Axiom.

Any advice or thoughts on the matter are greatly appreciated.
OkXbowHunter

Re: First Crossbow - choosing between Axiom & Equinox

Post by OkXbowHunter »

Hey Bro,

I have an Axiom and I've taken two deer already this year with it. It's a great bow. You can take anything that walks with this bad boy! My Axiom has cut vanes off of arrows at 40 yards. To say it's "scary accurate" is an understatement!

IMHO, 30 yards or under there isn't a deer alive that can duck an arrow from it. Also, the Axiom with it's 175lb draw weight will be easier on you, your arrows, targets, string, etc.

I'd save the money and get the Axiom. Take that money you saved and buy an STS system for it and a FFF string and you'll have yourself one hard shooting, deer killin' machine! (or any other critter for that matter!)
Now therefore take, I pray thee, thy weapons, thy quiver and thy bow, and go out to the field, and take me some venison; And make me savoury meat, such as I love, and bring it to me, that I may eat; that my soul may bless thee before I die. Gen 27:3-4
sumner4991

Post by sumner4991 »

Here are the charts. http://www.excaliburcrossbow.com/conten ... ballistics Your arrow set-up could be a little heavier than 400 grains, but, this gives you a guideline.