Equinox help

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

da7703

Equinox help

Post by da7703 »

Hi Folks. Newbie here who's been lusting for an Excal for a while. Got an Equinox as a gift, but I just can't handle it. My wonderful family got me the best, not knowing that my 5'6" 135# frame is just not big enough for this beast. The three times I cocked it darn near killed me! Unfortunately bought on ebay and no returns allowed.

So, I love it and really don't want to just sell it. There's a lot of coin packed into this, so I was wondering if anyone had any ideas? I posted it for sale locally for the heck of it, but what about just getting new limbs? Can I just buy new limbs? Would someone trade me new limbs for my new limbs, like a dealer or a private party? When I say new, this hasn't even been shot once :( :( .

A cocking crank is a possibility, but at 40, I was hoping to just keep to a string aid. I had tried the Phoenix and had no problems. Think I could handle the 200# limbs, too..any thoughts would be appreciated!
Deer & beer...that's why arrows and Hop Devil were made.
Cossack

Re: Equinox help

Post by Cossack »

Limbs are the same on all but the target version of Excal. Have a gander at the Phoenix/Ibex (same bow latter has thumbhole stock) or Vixen. List your bow in the classifieds here, perhaps someone wants to trade.
Vortex, Phoenix, single-shot rifles and handguns.
Incurable tinkerer.
Why hunt? Simple, it's BASIC. Why breath?!
Boo

Post by Boo »

Shorten the rope cocker. I am no where near your height and obviously arm reach and I can easily cock mine. :D
The difference between all of the bows is the stroke and shortening the rope cocker will make all the difference.
Some people just like stepping on rakes
FLA-XBOW

Post by FLA-XBOW »

The rope cocker that comes with it should already be really short, mine was atleast, dont think it could be shorter and still be able to use it
2011 Vortex w/ varizone
fff string
Rage 2 125 grain broadheads