range finders - any advice?

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

gab

range finders - any advice?

Post by gab »

Hello all, I am new to this forum and relatively new to crossbows. Two months ago I bought an Excalibur Exomax for hunting deer, moose and elk, after several months of research. I find that I am having trouble estimating distance. I noticed that a range finder can be attached to the Exomax. Can anyone here recommend a range finder? I have never used one before.

I am looking forward to the opening of archery season for deer here on Vancouver Island - opens August 25 and goes to December 10. We are fortunate in British Columbia in that the regulations consider a crossbow the same as a traditional or compound bow.
gendoc

Re: range finders - any advice?

Post by gendoc »

once you get one and get used to its thinking, you might not need it anymore.
we have had several and they all have been great. i just use mine now for judging target placement with rifles, shotguns and +bows.
and i get a refresher course at the beginning of whitetail season :wink:
my favorite one is a few years old but it is very compact and waterproof.
the lithium battery has lasted me since i bought the finder new... 4-5 years ago.
it is a...... bushnell yardage pro its not by far the most expensive, but it gets the job done time after time.
like i mentioned, once you get one and learn the distances... you might not need it. so you don't have to get a very expensive one and you really don't need one that can range to 1000yrds :roll:
good luck and welcome !!! :D
2013 matrix 380x
2011 vortex
vintage exomax & exocet
boo custom strings
Burris FF-III
RBBB
L&S speed demon arras
Easton xx75 2219ch
Ignitors
125 G5 striker mag
Dalton wax
bowmax 1131
wabi calls

I prefer dangerous freedom over peaceful slavery.
OkXbowHunter

Post by OkXbowHunter »