Fall tests

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

strum

Fall tests

Post by strum »

i had purchased a HSS Pro Series Harness/Vest a couple of weeks ago ..
Today I set up a stand in my yard and did some hanging tests to see how it felt and what would i do if i ever fall..
I put a loc on type stand about 8 feet up and used some buck steps to climb. Now for the news,,IT SUX :lol:
not the harness it will save you life but to be hanging from 20 or 30 ft up would be a scary thing..I never just jumped because i didnt want to tear the break away stitching but i just eased down and let the harness take my weight..I tried both sides because one side had steps and the other didnt..
at first it was a ball buster let me say that again BALL BUSTER :lol: if the boys are not out of the way and the leg straps are not adjusted right you will squeal like a little girl :shock: but after an adjustment or two i got it so it felt pretty good hanging there.
Guys im no expert but what i was looking for was how to rescue myself ..let me say ..its not easy.
Im 170 lbs /46 years old and in pretty good shape but it matters where your hanging..if your close to the stand you can get back on with some effort ..if there is some steps close you can use them..but if you on a side with no steps your in trouble..It hangs you facing out and you have to get turned around and if you cant you better get your suspension relief strap in place and call for help. I found that with some effort i can get turned around and by facing the tree i got all the control i need to walk around to some steps. i know im saying a lot but i want every one who plans to hunt off the ground to try this at home ..its an eye opener..last thing i also tried my old one that just clipped around my waist and straped over my shoulders,,you would die in a matter of min with that one..you cannot breath..and to think i been using it since 93 or 94 wow :(
Micro RTX
Nikon Bolt XR
BEE Arrows
Slick Trick Magnum