When Do You Replace Rope Cocking Aid?

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

PA_DeerHunter

When Do You Replace Rope Cocking Aid?

Post by PA_DeerHunter »

I have been using the same rope cocking aid for 2 years now, and thousands of shots...so many shots that grooves have actually formed from cocking the crossbow so many times. These grooves have formed on the inside of each hook, where the hooks ride alongside the rail as the string is drawn back. I am wondering if the hooks are getting weaker, and if you're supposed to replace the cocking aid at some point in its life. Is there any rule of thumb for when to replace it, or am I good for thousands of more shots?
wabi

Re: When Do You Replace Rope Cocking Aid?

Post by wabi »

Just snapped the hooks off one last week and it was a shock when it happened. The aid was a Horton brand, but the hooks were the same shape as Excalibur's from the time frame when I purchased it (8 or 10 years old).
I had never really paid attention to the hooks, so I'm not sure if they were showing wear. :roll:

I'd replace it if in doubt of it's strength!

The result of mine breaking was very similar to a dry-fire. :shock:
No damage to me or the Phoenix, but it was tough on my nerves. :wink:
wabi
AvianQuest

Post by AvianQuest »

Good question. I just took delivery on my Vortex and I've only shot it 15 times as of this writing. But it became apparent to me that should the rope cocker get lost or malfunction that I'm out of business until I can find another one which isn't a good option if it happens while I'm so deep in Texas' Big Thicket that Big Foot won't even go there.

So, I ordered a 2nd one from "Cheaper Than Dirt" and it's due to be delivered tomorrow.
wheelie

Post by wheelie »