Humbled By My New Vortex

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

Hester0305

Humbled By My New Vortex

Post by Hester0305 »

Well to I went out for the third time to shoot my new Vortex and frankly I haven't been happy with my Goldtip Laser II arrows because I couldn't get them to group, I had 2 maybe 3 good arrows out of 6 that would group at 40 and 50 yards off the bench. Well I found out this afternoon it wasn't my arows after all causing the problem with my grouping it was they way I was cocking my crossbow causing my arrows to shoot left and right. I had marked 2 arrows last time I shot that flew good so I took them out this afternoon and started shooting again at 30 yards and one hit good and the other went way left about 10 inches I started really getting aggravated. The problem is I am a Firearms Instructor and I have shot guns and compound bows for about 30 years and taught many people to shoot both, so I didn't think I could have been doing anything wrong because I was squeezing off every shot. I also thought I remember seeing the video that the string would line up straight as you pull it up with the cocker.
I started walking around my crossbow cocked and on safety of course on the bench with an arrow in it looking at everything to see if I could find out what was wrong when I noticed the serving was sticking out more on one side of the rail than the other. I shot that arrow and then starting cocking the crossbow with the string close to the rail from the very start. I shot 12 more arrows in 4 shot groups at 30 and 40 yards and when I started grouping after the first 4 shots with all 4 arrows I definitely new that it was operator error. I was very humbled but also very happy to figure out my problem even though I have ordered a dozen of new Carbon Express Crossbolts that I thought would fix my problem.