What bolt setup is everyone using?

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

bitsdoo

What bolt setup is everyone using?

Post by bitsdoo »

I'm new to the game and just got my brand new (slightly used) Equinox....it's a shooter!

Anyways, it came with 4 Gold Tip II's and I'm looking to get some more arrows.

I will be shooting luminok's, blazer vanes, slick trick magnums with 100 grain brass inserts but undecided if I want to stick with the gold tips or go to an easton or the firebolt arrows.

so I bounce it off you...what's your bolt set up and why?

Cheers.
bitsdoo.
bucknbill

Re: What arrow setup is everyone using?

Post by bucknbill »

i have shot gt lazer 2,s, firebolts and a few others but i got my most consistant flight with 2219,s aluminun insert and 2inch blazer vanes w/luminoc..but i use muzzy 125 3 blade and sometimes they are trickier to get to fly right..the carbons would do fine with a smaller profile head i,m thinkin
Exocet 200
S5 string stoppers
3x Proview
ComfyBear string
2219,s Blazer vanes, Muzzy 3 bld 125,s..they fly straight

John 3:16
georgiaboy

Re: What bolt setup is everyone using?

Post by georgiaboy »

I'm using the firebolts with 125gr slick trick mags & spitfires...flies great!! :D
Bulldog m380 blackout
Micro 355
Matrix 350LE
Vixen II
Proud member of the Georgia Meat Hunter's Association
"Shooting tomorrow's trophy's...today"
Sopchoppy

Post by Sopchoppy »

I use exactly the same setup you described and with the Vortex, it is very accurate. When I first got my Vortex, I was all worked up to get "this and that". Bought a couple of dozen GT raw bolts and built my own, but have the Lumenoks on just 3 of them. Find what you like and stick with it, you'll save a lot of $$$$.
Vortex
Gold Tip Laser II's
Slick Trick Broadheads
Viper X String
Groundpounder Mount
STS
Lumi-Zone
wabi

Post by wabi »

I belong to the "if it isn't broke, don't fix it" mentality.