20 Yard Grouping

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

Bill Gass

20 Yard Grouping

Post by Bill Gass »

Good Day

I am new to crossbows, purchasing my first earlier this year. I am trying to line up my crossbow. I have the Ibex (Aluminum rail) and shadowzone scope. What kind of grouping should I be expecting when shooting supported. I've made a few small adjustments and I'm just wondering how precise a CB should be. Right now most bolts are within a 4 inch circle at 20 yards.

Thanks
Bill G.
NB
ottawacats

Re: 20 Yard Grouping

Post by ottawacats »

Hello Bill,
Im sure you find many different answer to that question. I know as of yesturday my Ibex can shot groups of about 2" @ 20 yards. I know its possible to group better then that as I have tagged afew arrows but have yet to robinhood any. That is on a few sandbags as a rest not free hand. If I shot freehand I'm at about the 3" groupings on my target. This is shooting Firebolts with 150grain xcal broadheads.

Oh and welcome to the fourm and the best crossbow around.

Matt
LongCarbine

Post by LongCarbine »

HI BILL And Welcome

I just shot a 2" group at 55 yards That was My first group since last Dec. When I first got my bow I couldn't do that constantly , but after playing around with different things and shooting about 1000 arrows I can do it now. You will find out there are is lot of tweaking that most of the guys & gals do and that makes it fun . If you only hunt , 4" groups will kill a deer all day long. If you want more, your bow will give it to you. Use a cocking devise and follow your arrow though the scope until it hits the target. That sounds simple but a lot of people don't do that. Good luck and have fun!.
Matrix 355
Axiom (Alum.Rail)
Matrix B.D 330
Dereck

Post by Dereck »

first are you using the cocking aid?
Benching it should see better results than 4" but that could be a # of things breathing pulling the trigger instead of squeeze etc