Performance help needed from all / including technicians

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

Joshua 24:15

Performance help needed from all / including technicians

Post by Joshua 24:15 »

Good day Friends,

I am soliciting your help. I'm new to XBows but not to archery. I know what it takes to get the best performance and reduced noise from a compound bow. Now...I want to get the same from my Vortex.

I've read a lot of valuable information given by a lot of you...Thanks!

Please! Give me your advise on what you have tested and found to be proven.

Several topics: Brace height, speed, noise, and string.

Brace height for the best performance: I've resolved the best brace height is where the XBow's power stroke measurement ends. Example: Vortex is designed with a 15.5" power stroke. If I measure from where the rear of the bolt touches the string, at full draw, and come towards the riser 15.5" inches this is where my brace height needs to be for optimum performance. Your proven discoveries please?

String...why would Excalibur rate a bow with a string that they do not send with the bow? "New user dry fire?", this could be part of the reasoning, but my guess is Excalibur needs to stay competitive with other xbows, which is fair enough. However, the string used to produced the performance ratings should be the string to come on the bow. Is there something I'm missing or some other reasoning? Thoughts please.

S5 suppressors...do they really work? Are they worth the money? Can an obvious difference be observed when the S5 suppressors are added to the XBow? Tested and proven suggestions please?

Noise, noise, and noise. Is it possible to significantly reduce the noise on these XBows? Ideas tested and proven please!

I've read on some posts in this forum noise doesn't matter, speed doesn't matter, but the only thing that matters is shot placement.