Calling - When to call & how much is too much

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

Fatboyxc

Calling - When to call & how much is too much

Post by Fatboyxc »

So this is my first year I've tried calling deer. I really nice call from Wabi (sounds great) & a rattle bag. I haven't been real aggressive with the calling yet, but I want to know should I get aggressive now with the rut in full swing. Its been a bit of a tough year, I've got deer in both properties I have permission to hunt but the wind has been terrible for my stand locations.

So what are your thoughts. How much grunting & rattling should I be doing to entice them in range?

Also I still haven't had a shot at deer with my crossbow to date.
Growing Old.....Standard
Growing Up.....Optional

Just the toys are more expensive!
tradshooter

Re: Calling - When to call & how much is too much

Post by tradshooter »

Welcome to the club. Been calling and a little rattle and the winds suck!!! been a tough go lately. Hope you do better soon.
wabi

Post by wabi »

I usually keep the calling subtle and infrequent unless I have a deer in sight.

When the rut is near or on I get in my stand, give it 15-20 minutes for things to settle down, then a couple soft grunts. Repeat about every 20 minutes unless I see a buck. If I spot one heading my way I remain silent, but if I see one that looks like he's just passing through I'll give him a subtle grunt and watch his reaction. If no reaction I'll give him a louder grunt(s) until he looks my direction.
Sometimes they head my way, sometimes they don't, but it still fun to see one.
wabi
Raymond

Post by Raymond »

wabi wrote:I usually keep the calling subtle and infrequent unless I have a deer in sight.