Do you hunt with vertical and crossbows?

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

Big Woods

Do you hunt with vertical and crossbows?

Post by Big Woods »

Just curious how many hunt with both. I bought a Matrix 355 and it is the first crossbow I have ever owned. I have been hunting with mostly recurves for the last 23 years. Well I went out with the crossbow in September for the first time and was walking slowly to my tree and there were already a couple of deer in the beanfield. Long story short, I stalked up on them and shot a large doe at 30 yards. Since that evening I haven't shot the crossbow and it just felt a little too easy. I do plan on breaking it out again probably in December.

Do most of you switch back and forth and which do you hunt with more?
galamb

Re: Do you hunt with vertical and crossbows?

Post by galamb »

When it comes to deer hunting I use the "full array" of weapons.

I start the "early bow" (1 Oct in Ontario) with the crossbow (upgraded from recurve which replaced my longbow about 15 years back).

I "party hunt" with one buddy (this allows us to "share" tags as long as we are both in the field AND in contact with each other) who also shoots a crossbow (upgraded from vertical compound) .

I use my 30-06 in the gun season if I'm in a "rifle" area or my 12 gauge/00 buck if I'm in a "shotgun" area (and we still have a tag(s) left).

During the "black powder" week (early December), my traditional BP rifle (40 caliber) comes out and sees some field time (again, depending on tags).

And finish the season (which ends New Years eve) with either the crossbow (no deer in the freezer) or recurve (one in the freezer).

If spears or Falcon's were legal for deer hunting, I would try and work them in as well :lol:
Graham

Micro 340TD, 17" Gold Tip Ballistics (180 gr inserts) - 125 gr Iron Will/VPA/TOTA (504 grains total/21.6% FOC) @ 301 FPS
paulaboutform

Post by paulaboutform »