Ibex string tips?

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

Minnow

Ibex string tips?

Post by Minnow »

Hello all! I'm a newb to this forum and crossbows as well. Got my ibex for Christmas and been reading on this forum constantly ever since, it's an endless well of info and I'd like to thank excalibur and all of u who share you're info!

Anyways, on to my question...
I'm not interested in max speed, I'd rather have strong impact so have decided to use an arrow with a total weight between 400gr and 450 gr( prolly around 425gr) would I benefit from switching to a Flemish string? I'd like to get the most out of my bow and I understand that it can depend on a combination of weight vs string? Any info would be appreciated
Last edited by Minnow on Tue Feb 03, 2015 2:10 am, edited 1 time in total.
Ibex SMF
Zombies
Cheek rest
S5
Stock extender
Mo wannabe

Re: Ibex tips

Post by Mo wannabe »

Welcome to the forum ... I don't know a lot about the strings and different weights but I'm sure someone who does will chime in and help you out. Enjoy that new xbow !
Micro 335 Camo. Micro Nightmare. Vixen Matrix 310 Axiom
Leupold scopes VixenMaster Strings
Big john arrows. BOO strings & things
Montec g5
DaGriz knive
Less work.....more hunt
Derry Hicks
Excalibur only
SniperWolf

Re: Ibex string tips?

Post by SniperWolf »

I had an ibex. I had a Flemish string on it and used the firebolt bolts and 100 gr. tip. I got the whole 305 fps out of this set up. Used 100 gr. Magnum Slick Tricks in the fall. Arrow went through a deer like it was butter. Great bow. Lots of fun to shoot. Hope this helps.
Matrix 330 "Mercy"
Slick Tricks
Boo Custom String
SniperWolf

Post by SniperWolf »

Also: put the dissipator bars on that bad boy. It will quiet your bow down quite a bit and throw on the S5 stoppers as well. I tried the bow before I put this stuff on and I found the bow to be quite loud at firs .
Matrix 330 "Mercy"
Slick Tricks
Boo Custom String
Boo

Post by Boo »