Micro\Quill and NAP FOC redux. NO GO

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

Chefrific

Micro\Quill and NAP FOC redux. NO GO

Post by Chefrific »

My vortex loved the 170 grain nap foc's. Had great accuracy and devastating results on deer.
So when I got my micro, I was excited to use the same head. As I posted on some other threads, I put the 170 grain field points on and the chronograph avg was 319fps. However, as I shot at various ranges I began to notice erratic flight. VERY inconstant. Would shoot 1 to 3 inches in any direction at 20 yards and as you can imagine, this problem got worse at 30 and 40 yards.
I thought, is it my scope, is it the bow itself, or is it me?
I'm no expert BY FAR, but I wondered if the shorter quills just did not like the 170 grain heads.
This morning I setup exactly how I did shooting the 170 grain. Starting at 20 yards, from a rest and I switched to a 125 grain field tip and instantly shot perfect bulls-eye's every shot! It's a little breezy here so I did not back up and shoot at 30, 40 etc. But by switching to the 125 grain, it became a tack driver at 20 yards.
Eureka...perhaps.
Just wanted to share my experience for the sake of anyone else considering the nap foc for their micro.
-2019 Assassin 420
-2015 Micro 335 RTX
-2013 Vortex
MI Yeti

Re: Micro\Quill and NAP FOC redux. NO GO

Post by MI Yeti »

Seems like to much weight up front for such a short arrow . You could try installing heavy nocks and light composite/carbon inserts . Some lighted nocks are pretty hefty .
Exocet 165 2.5x32 Drop Zone scope
Vixenmaster and Danny miller strings
Gold tip laser II arrows ,Muzzy 235 broadheads
xcaliber

Post by xcaliber »

Thanks for the report, i have not tried them on the Micro, and probably won't now!
It’s not the way you rock, it’s the way that you roll!

Post by newbie »

Try a stiffer arrow.
Kandy-a.k.a Raid
Midge- a.k.a Micro 335
SSAS Spynal Tapps-Original
100 Grn 2" Shwacker
Boo threads
Don't wreck the fun house!