Matrix 330 string stretching

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

Bayou Boy

Matrix 330 string stretching

Post by Bayou Boy »

My Matrix 330 is about 16 months old, I do not shoot it alot. I am on my 3rd string. I replaced the factor string and put a custom string from a local bow shop. I have contacted Dan Miller, he sent me 2 of his custom strings. I am currently using one that I have shot several times. I am up to 40 twists on the string and it is still stretching. I am no expert, are the strings too long or the limbs too short? Is anyone else having the same issues with their strings stretching this much?

I have adjusted my brace height anywhere from an inch to an inch and a half everytime I have twisted the string. Does anyone have any recommendations, maybe on different strings or material?
xcaliber

Re: Matrix 330 string stretching

Post by xcaliber »

Get a good custom string from any of the string maker's here, and I think you'll be very happy. If the string stretches a lot in the field, it was not pre-stretched by the maker enough to remove the creep that is inherent in all performance materials.
It’s not the way you rock, it’s the way that you roll!
Squirrel

Post by Squirrel »

That's just a symptom of owning a Matrix crossbow. You have to follow the brace height and keep adjusting it. It's a pain in the butt, but you have to do it. :lol:

An inch and a half from the joint is overkill, just keep it at 3/4 to one inch from the joint and you're good to go. Make sure to use REDS or Danny Miller's stoppers.

You can also rotate the string to change the impact of the claw to extend your string life. If you turn it in the same directions on both sides it will change the point of impact.
Matrix 355 w/Tact Zone
Vortex w/Varizone

Post by newbie »