Blood Trails: broadhead or shot angle?

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

CalhounWV

Blood Trails: broadhead or shot angle?

Post by CalhounWV »

This is my first year of bow hunting of any type. Great information on the board! Hunted with a gun for about 35 years, I hunt from a ground blind or stalk, never have hunted from a tree stand.

I am wondering which has greater impact on a blood trail, the broadhead or shot angle?

Seems to make sense if I hunt from a ground blind, I hit double lung and get a hole in and out of the deer, but at about mid-way up the body of the animal and the cavity fills with blood. For those hunting from a tree stand, they get a double lung coming from higher to lower on the body cavity, which would result in better blood trail with blood spilling out the lower hole.

More experienced hunters will have a lot better concept of this in practical hunting scenario's than I do.

Any one with experience using the same equipment in tree stands and ground blinds ever notice much difference?
Matrix Grizzly, diablo bolts w/luminated nock, 150 gr. BAT boltcutters.
LongCarbine

Re: Blood Trails: broadhead or shot angle?

Post by LongCarbine »

I agree with you . After shooting many deer from the air and on the ground with a lot of different broad heads . I would have to say that the lower exit hole leaves a better blood trail . But I wouldn't say it's any shorter. Shot placement and a relaxed deer seams to be the key to a short blood trail.
Matrix 355
Axiom (Alum.Rail)
Matrix B.D 330
DuckHunt

Post by DuckHunt »

LongCarbine wrote:I would have to say that the lower exit hole leaves a better blood trail . But I wouldn't say it's any shorter. Shot placement and a relaxed deer seams to be the key to a short blood trail.