Advice for Grizzly crossbow

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

Melmark

Advice for Grizzly crossbow

Post by Melmark »

Hello, looking for some advice. I have shot my new Grizzly about 30 times and have left it cocked overnight 3 or 4 nights. My brace height still measures 1.5 inches. I just installed a set of Dannys sound suppressors and as you can see they are not all the way in against the shoulder and I still measure 1/4" from the string to the suppressor tip. I am wondering if, at this point I should go ahead and unstring the bow and lengthen the string to get:
1. brace height to 1 inch
2. supressors in all the way against the shoulder
3. supressor distance to the string at 1/8"

Or maybe I should just leave it alone and not overthink it....what do your thoughts?
sorry...probs uploading pic
Last edited by Melmark on Sat Feb 13, 2016 9:25 am, edited 4 times in total.
TheBig1

Re: Advice for Grizzly crossbow (new guy)

Post by TheBig1 »

I'm no pro at this, but I had the same thing happen with my Dr. Stirrup bumpers. My advice would be to get it as close as possible without compromising your brace height, Loctite the screws in with blue Loctite and leave it there. I make sure that my string is on the faint line provided on the rail.

Chad

P.S.- I too love my Grizzly!!!
Matrix Grizzly
Hawke XB30 Pro
8ptbuk Custom Flemish String
Spynal Tapp 314gr 18" Bolts
Ramcat 100gr

Genesis 27:3
Now then, get your equipment, your quiver and bow, and go out to the open country to hunt some wild game for me.

NRA Lifetime Member
Melmark

Post by Melmark »

I think that I'm good now......unstrung and untwisted the string about 7 or 8 twists. That allowed me to slide the supressors (like reds) in all the way to the shoulder. After doing this the string is about 1/8" from the bumpers and I have a 1" brace height. I know that I will have to watch the dimensions as I shoot more but looks good for now.
L. E. Carroll

Post by L. E. Carroll »