Need help...new to hunting

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

Northener

Need help...new to hunting

Post by Northener »

Happy Easter everyone....as the title states, I'm new to hunting....bought me a excal axiom and am dying to hunt with it....but I'm new to the area and don't know where to go...I've been looking at the copeland forest or tiny marsh to hunt some gobbler. ..and advice would be greatly appreciated
way123hockey

Re: Need help...new to hunting

Post by way123hockey »

I have never hunted either of those but I do hunt the Simcoe County Forests. You can find all the locations online and just need to do some pre-season scouting. We have had pretty good luck over the years.
Matrix 355 Blackout
Katana 385 BlackOps
Custom Black Vixen
Vixenmaster Strings
Munch Mounts
Wabi Calls
Northener

Post by Northener »

Thank for the advice I really appreciate it.....was getting a little discouraged
I got a map from travel Ontario in barrie guess that would lay out all the forests
Hunt it
Location: 35 mins North of Lake Erie and 35 mins East of Lake Huron

Post by Hunt it »

That map will most likely not mark county forests - Provincial and National parks yes but that's not what your seeking. Township office will have county forest maps and perhaps your local MNR office. Then the rest is up to you, scouting - driving miles and miles early am looking for turkeys. Once you find birds work on landowners in area. No one is going to do all that for you unless you pay a guide. Back pages of Ontario Out of Doors lists some good Ontario guides for turkey. I averaged 2-3 thousand km's every spring for first fifteen years I hunted birds just finding, watching and patterning birds along with getting permission.
Minnow

Post by Minnow »

the interactive map works well on PC but not on mobile. It'll give you more info if you check it out. My parents live just south of a couple of these and I only realized recently that they can be hunted. Good luck to u guys!