Buying dad a crossbow.

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

wvbowmaster

Buying dad a crossbow.

Post by wvbowmaster »

I'm looking to buy my dad a crossbow. I have shot compounds for 25 years but never owned a crossbow. I worked as an archery tech for gander Mtn and cabelas so I did mess around with them some. With just messing around with crossbows in those few years at work and from just my personal opinion I would try to sell the Excalibur first to someone before anything else. Just the simplicity of them and the weight was a big thing for me. Plus they also seemed very accurate. I had meet the owners at the cabelas wheeling wv store. They stopped in on there way to a turkey hunt somewhere. Very nice people. I'm looking at the grizzly. For the price and the weight it looks like something that would be great for him. He will only be using it for whitetails. And he probably will only hunt maybe a day or two a week. Seems like all the reviews I have read have really praised the grizzly for the price of the bow and what your getting quality wise. Only thing I have read a few times is that people was saying the scope quality wasn't real good. And do you have to shoot 150 grn points and broad heads or is it ok to drop down to say maybe 125. Any help you guys could give would really be appreciated. Thanks for your time.
Doe Master
Site Admin

Re: Buying dad a crossbow.

Post by Doe Master »

First off welcome to the forum .
The Grizzly is a good bow for what your intentions are . He is not going for Cape Buffalo is all I mean by that .
The scope is a fixed power like the older dropzone . If he had a problem the warranty is outstanding as you know from dealing with Excalibur .
If you wanted to upgrade on the optics there is more and more scope makers jumping into the crossbow market .