I should have listened!

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

Opey

I should have listened!

Post by Opey »

Back in April I was looking at getting bolts for my new 405. Since I'm new to shooting a crossbow I got advice from a couple experienced guys that gave me a guy to call and special order bolts, but to stay away from Diablo bolts. So I read up and honestly didn't understand a lot about setting up my bolt request plus I was impatient and wanted to shoot ASAP. Well now I know what I'm getting for Christmas. I have one bolt that I could hit a dime from 40 yards every time. My other 3 bolts 2 to 3 inches off every shot. That's shooting the Diablo bolts.
Boo

Re: I should have listened!

Post by Boo »

Three questions for you Open.
Have you tried using different vanes as the cock vane yet?
Have you considered making your own arrows?
Last but more importantly, how dI'd you keep your smokes dry? :mrgreen:
Some people just like stepping on rakes
janesy

Post by janesy »

Try rotating each arrow one vane at a time and see if they shoot better.
Blackout BD-Axe "Hatchet340"
Suppressor 400TD
Assassin 400Extreme
vixenmaster

Post by vixenmaster »

So you also had Custom arrows made n they are bad. Thats not good
Half Bubble Off BD360

[email protected] 417-505-9315
Opey

Post by Opey »

Thanks for the advice guys . I'll try it all. But no I have not used different vanes for the cock vane yet. As far as making my own bolts, I have a lot more to learn.
As far as my cigar, it's just a matter of priorities. Can't let that get wet!
To the last responder. No I have not used custom bolts.

I really need to stop the knee jerk reaction and ask for advice before I start placing blame on the Diablo bolts.
xcaliber

Post by xcaliber »

Dumb question but what weight heads are you using?
It’s not the way you rock, it’s the way that you roll!
Opey

Post by Opey »

xcaliber wrote:Dumb question but what weight heads are you using?
150grain