Bolts for Black Bear

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

TrekJeff

Bolts for Black Bear

Post by TrekJeff »

At a bit of a loss with all the options in the market. I'm looking for new bolts to get me into the 425ish weight (Or what you Veteran bear hunters suggest) using a 100gBH.

I shoot an Equinox and have only shot 20" bolts from it.
If you are an avid black bear hunting your opinion is appreciated. Heading up to the UP of Michigan in less than 2 weeks. :?:

This is my first time bear hunting and I'm a bit concern that everything is set up properly. Thanks
Squirrel

Re: Bolts for Black Bear

Post by Squirrel »

You should be fine with firebolts and boltcutters.
Matrix 355 w/Tact Zone
Vortex w/Varizone
longbow joe

Post by longbow joe »

I killed 2 bear with regular everday boltcutters and firebolts. Any arrow you use for deer will kill a bear. I normally use a spitfire for deer but i like the better penitrating boltcutter for bear . Good luck post a pic. Of your bear. Lbj
Vixen 2, metal ibex,Phoenix,sapphire,matrix 330 ,matrix 355 ,vortex and baby grand piano y25 relayer.
Trigger tecs,leupold crossbones and nikon bolts.
Zombie slayers and mostly swat broadheads.
Carnivorous

Post by Carnivorous »

I used this on my bear last week. Outstanding results as long as you do your part with shot placement.

16.5" zombie shaft.
Lumenok rear insert
2" sk vanes
110gr brass front insert
125 exodus broad head.

Total weight 425gr...

A touch of frost has heightened your awareness and your heart steadily beats in anticipation. Your senses are suddenly alert to the movement on the forest floor and you realize that the moment of truth is at hand.
xcaliber

Post by xcaliber »

Black Eagle Zombie Slayer's, 9.1 gpi
110 grain brass inserts
8 grain plastic nocks rear
18 grains for the vanes
2 for glue
100 grain heads
418 total.
Should do the trick!
It’s not the way you rock, it’s the way that you roll!
TrekJeff

Post by TrekJeff »