Put a doe down

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

hunt2sleep

Put a doe down

Post by hunt2sleep »

Saturday morning was opening day of gun season but I was hunting an archery only WMA. I've been hunting this place on and off for a few years, seeing deer most hunts but never getting a shot opportunity. My hunting area is about 3 miles in and you can't use an ATV to go to your stand. Carrying my bow, backpack, and climbing stand that far is just too much so a few weeks ago I bought a bicycle.

I rode my bike in (on a gravel road most of the way) 2.75 miles then walked the last 0.25 mile. I got everything set up including my new inflatable decoy (first time using one) and was in the tree and ready 10 minutes before shooting time. About 30 minutes after shooting time the hunters on the neighboring leases really started hammering the deer. Soon after that, I saw a deer feeding about 60 yards or so away through the trees. I looked at it through the scope and could tell it was a doe. I tried calling her with my bleat can but she wasn't interested and walked away. About an hour later I saw two deer near the same spot and they quickly moved on. As the morning went on I decided to call it a day at noon so I could go vote early.