RETURNED FROM THE RUSSIAN BOAR HUNT

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

paulaboutform

RETURNED FROM THE RUSSIAN BOAR HUNT

Post by paulaboutform »

I met Normous last Wednesday at the Edmonton airport and the hunt was on. The weather was far too mild with no snow and temps above freezing. We sat at the airport Timmy's and caught up a little while waiting for my buddy to pick us up. We got back to the house and quickly unpacked, got our bows together and got ready. Had a quick snack, confirmed zero then loaded up the bait in the sled and headed to our blind on the quads.
I've been hunting here for around 18-20 years and this hunt was probably in the top two slowest hunts I've experienced. I'm unsure what was happening but the hogs weren't moving until just before dark and even then it was just young hogs and skittish to beat all get out! Nonetheless, a nice 160lbs sow came out that first night and Norm made a perfect double lung shot at about 20yards zipping a Slick Trick Mag through her like a hot knife through butter. The recovery was about 60yards (please make any corrections as needed Norm) and that summed up our first day. Thursday we sat on stand from morning to late afternoon with nothing but a little bugger coming in gorging on the bait and grain. Again, just before dark we had two sows come in and I got to test my M380/Zombie/Firenock/125gr GrizzTrick2 combo. The shot was absolutely perfect! Slightly quartering away, the arrow was halfway below midline and brisket and exiting touching the rear of the front leg. Perfect double lung shot but this 180lbs sow ran at least 90 yards with what looked like a slug hole and almost no blood until the last 20-30 yards. I still don't understand that. I told Norm that I've been spoiled by my Toxics as I don't doubt this hog wouldn't have made it 50yards had I been shooting a toxic. Day three and a little porker came out a little earlier in the afternoon and Norm put his second down with another perfec