Nock problems

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

BoRed32

Nock problems

Post by BoRed32 »

I'm shooting a exomax and with 20inch fire bolts shoots fine but I bought some pile drivers and put the Included flat nocks on em it or keeps partially dry firing any ideas? What's the difference in the flat nocks on firebolts compared to the pile drivers
Exomax & Matrix 355
BoRed32

Re: Nock problems

Post by BoRed32 »

Any advice would help me greatly. I'm new to crossbows.
Exomax & Matrix 355
paulaboutform

Post by paulaboutform »

I've never heard of pile drivers but if you're getting partial dry fires the first thing I'll say is STOP SHOOTING THEM! There are a couple possibilities I can see. It's possible the outside diameter of those shafts is simply too small. Secondly, is it possible you didn't seat the arrows all the way back or thirdly, a combination of the two. If your arrow retention spring isn't tight enough on a smaller diameter shaft it's possible you're seating the arrow but it's sliding forward slightly so the arrow is no longer seated correctly. I'm betting your issue lies somewhere in there.

Paul
You're only paranoid if everyone isn't out to get you.
Keep your friends close and your enemies closer.
My enemy's friend is also my enemy.
BoRed32

Post by BoRed32 »

Yea I stopped shooting them didn't want to mess my bow up. They are made by carbon express. Do you think the nocks being plastic has anything to do with it? Been doing some research and seen alot of people are against the plastic flat nocks was wondering if I bought some aluminum nocks would it help any?
Exomax & Matrix 355
Boo

Post by Boo »

What is the diameter of the nock? Are you pushing the arrow back past the ADF?
You might want to remove your string and slide the arrow back into the trigger unit to see where it hangs up.
Some people just like stepping on rakes
BoRed32

Post by BoRed32 »