Is anyone deer hunting at 100+ yards?

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

AndyFed

Is anyone deer hunting at 100+ yards?

Post by AndyFed »

I am new to crossbow hunting, this is my second season with a 380 Matrix. I have standard Diablo's with 100gr and 125gr fixed broad-heads. Out to 60 yards I have been successful, but never even practiced out to a 100 or more. My question is does anyone take those shots with confidence to make a clean kill or should it be within 60 or so?
I see a lot of guys shoot their crossbows out to 200 yards even for target shooting, but I am mostly interested in deer hunting. :( I just had to let a nice buck go at 110yards. I did not take a shot, wasn't sure if I would be able to put him down. But I am curious if any of you guys hunt in those ranges and more. And what do you use for arrow/broad-head weight to get out farther with enough power.
elkaholic

Re: Is anyone deer hunting at 100+ yards?

Post by elkaholic »

#1 issue with100 yrds - as I see it is--- clear line of arrow flight . you'll need the perfect shot!

If your at an open field with no obstructions - it's a doable shot.

Doable meaning - you've spent time actually shooting 100 yrds and know with confidence from practice that you can make a kill shot.

#2 -- you have to have a "SOLID" rest to shoot from

Here in Arizona we call those guys "Flingers" cuz basically you are just flinging an arrow/bolt and hope nothing goes wrong and you actually make a kill shot.

In my opinion stick to the 60 - less chances of all those multipule--" what if's " going wrong.

2 main what ifs - any little movement from you while shooting- or any movement of the deer while your shooting

It's not worth injuring an animal and having little or no chance of recovery because something didn't go "PERFECT"