Not happy with blood trail

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

WNCTracker

Not happy with blood trail

Post by WNCTracker »

I’m still relatively new to crossbow hunting (on my third year). I’ve been using the same model broad head since I first started. They flew straight, were accurate, and killed deer. I’ve killed 4 deer with them but since I’ve had no comparison I assumed that all bow kills required intense tracking. At least all 4 of mine did (1 heart, 2 double lungs, 1 single lung stomach....). I’ve seen some people talking about great blood from their mechanicals and I think that I’m not anywhere close to great blood. Few drops here and there. Looking everywhere for tiny drops...backing up...hands knees right up to the deer.

I use 125 gr Rage Crossbow X 2” cut broad heads on the diablo bolt with lumenoks out of my matrix 350SE. I’ve read people saying that Nolt was designed for a 150 gr broadhead as well. If I switch it looks like the best options are either a schwacker mechanical or Boltcutter fixed. Is it worth the switch to the 150 and why? Whatbrosdhead would increase blood trails that you’ve used in a similar setup as I’m shooting? Thanks!!
Buck

Re: Not happy with blood trail

Post by Buck »

Used 150 gr Bolt Cutters for years. All deer were recovered with the exception of 1. Some left great blood trails others left a drop every few yards. There are so many factors in play, it’s tough to determine the cause. I did switch to 125gr RamCats last season. Shot and recovered 3 deer with 2 major blood trails and 1 with drops. Was it my shot placement? Maybe. Would I have had the same results with the Bold Cutters? Maybe.

Good luck and hunt safe.
Micro 335 / Hawke XB30 Pro- Excal Sound Deadening System....
Matrix 350 SE / Hawke XB30 Compact - Couldn't say no......
308 Shorty / Hawke XB30 Pro- Tack driver ....
Axe 340 Raid / Hawke XB30 Compact - ....
catclr

Post by catclr »

Some questions: