Newbie wants to get it right

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

lacpercher

Newbie wants to get it right

Post by lacpercher »

I am new to crossbow hunting at the age of 72. I have not purchased my Excalibur yet but it won't be long. I am limited to the number of models out there to try (end of year stocking) and the number of dealers that stock different models of Excalibur's close to my home. I whitetail hunt in Vilas County in northern Wisconsin and shoot out of a ladder stand or blind. I have used a compound bow and know my limitations are 30 yards where I hunt. I have shot the Banshee and like the feel, the compactness plus I can use the rope cocker without too much trouble (cocking effort 127 lbs, 12.5" power stroke). Is this enough bow for all the situations I may encounter? On my short list also is the 335 Raid which I have not shouldered yet. (cocking effort 135 lbs, 10" power stroke). Interested to find out the feel and if I will be able to cock this bow without a mechanical tool. Does the additional 26 FPS make that much difference in the field? Both bows I have listed have the sound suppression because I feel it is important. Correct me if I am wrong on that? I know so much of this is a personal preference, but I want to get it right the first time and would appreciate your input.
One trail leading home many more leading into the woods
xcaliber

Re: Newbie wants to get it right

Post by xcaliber »

Excalibur makes these to hunt with, deer and black bear size game are no issue for the smaller models. Shot placement is still key, and should be even when gun hunting in my opinion. I think the string bumpers are all the suppression you need as well. Don't overlook the grizzly, or cub, and take a peek at the Trading Post, some great deals from really good folks always listed.

Good luck in your search,
Dan
It’s not the way you rock, it’s the way that you roll!
BrotherRon

Post by BrotherRon »