String wax

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

Toyotun04

String wax

Post by Toyotun04 »

Hello everyone, I'm new to crossbows. Can I use excalibur serving wax to wax my string? I've been using string snot that I bought when got my suppresser 400. The archery shop that I bought at said use it on string and rail, but serving. He actually said do nothing to serving. I been on youtube and spoke to a guy at excalibur, he said lightly wax servings not even worry about rail. What's your all idea/ thoughts? Thanks
Excalibur micro suppresser 400td, 16.5 inch zombie slayers, slik trik 150 gr. crossbow broadheads
xcaliber

Re: String wax

Post by xcaliber »

This is a good question, and I do this personally. Now, I do make my own, and change them frequently, so my opinion is my what I do for mine. I wax the string only, the servings, nope. I find that the servings from the factory are Angel Majesty, and over waxing them CAN cause separation which leads to premature failure. I think that a new string a year is reasonable for someone that shoots a good bit, and hunts a good bit then maybe every other year if you use it less. :eusa-popcorn:
It’s not the way you rock, it’s the way that you roll!
Toyotun04

Post by Toyotun04 »

Well when I bought this bow the guy at the shop told me, crossbows are like rifles that when you get it sighted in you don't shoot it. Unless, you want to deal with string issues. I decided I want to shoot mine and deal with it. I ordered a new string to have on hand, I've already had to have my serving redone, it started separating and finally broke. Somebody told me that the string snot I was using on the rail probably caused it due to it having silicone in it. So I've bought some ex wax serving wax, because someone else told me to lightly wax the serving and wax the string. I don't think I got 100 shots out of my string before the serving gave up the ghost.