Best hours for bear hunting ?

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

gerald strine

Best hours for bear hunting ?

Post by gerald strine »

I am new to bear hunting and have been told that morning hunts are not really productive .
What have the Bear hunters out their found to be the best times for Bear sightings ?
Hunt eat sleep repeat.
DuckHunt

Re: Best hours for bear hunting ?

Post by DuckHunt »

I'm interested in feedback on this question as well. :eusa-popcorn:

I've got this thing roaming around my stand and captured him twice on cam in late morning in June, then these evening shots last week.
For you bear hunters, how much would you guess this one weighs? Can you tell the sex from photos?

We can't bait here, so I'm stuck with the good old fashioned waiting game. But most of the time luck is being in the right place at the right time. Location matters, but timing is crucial. I've got three weekday afternoons in late September I can chase him with a rifle, then he's also on the hit list throughout my October archery buck season.
Micro Wolverine/Matrix 350 SE
Recovering Excalaholic :lol:
Normous

Post by Normous »

In my black bear hunting experience with a number of lads here on this forum most bears we arrow are taken in the last 1.5 hours before sunset according to my mental notes.

Nice photo Duckhunt!
Last edited by Normous on Tue Sep 07, 2021 8:12 pm, edited 2 times in total.
EXCALFFLICTION 1991 ->>----------> 2024
Matrix 355
Huskemaw and Leupold crossbow optics.
Boo Strings
SWAT BH's and TOTA heads.
Teach Your Family How To Hunt So You Don't Have To Hunt For Your Family
Carnivorous

Post by Carnivorous »

1hr before sunset has been go time most seasons for me.

Last year we had a bear taken in the morning.

Let the game cams tell you the best time for your particular bait location... :)