Please allow me to introduce myself…

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

HD Archer

Please allow me to introduce myself…

Post by HD Archer »

Howdy folks, I’m a total newbie to the world of crossbows so be gentle if I ask dumb or redundant questions. Although new to crossbows, I’m not new to archery. I’ve been shooting compounds, recurves, and longbows for nearly 40 years and my bow arm shoulder has about had all it can take.
I recently bought a used BD360 that supposedly had shot about a dozen arrows and then put away. Tuning a crossbow seems to be limited to adjusting brace height, (unless I’m missing something) if so, please enlighten me. Even though I have some Diablo arrows, I’d like to build some of my own. Any recommendations on which bare shafts to buy? Does anyone use feather fletching or are vanes the only way to go? Can vinyl wraps be used or does the friction from rail contact damage them?
Im sure I’ll have more questions. Many thanks to the administrators for allowing me here and a chance to learn more about my Excalibur.

-Dave
xcaliber

Re: Please allow me to introduce myself…

Post by xcaliber »

Welcome aboard! Adjusting brace height just keeps the bow in the sweet spot, and reduces harm to the limbs, etc. You will have to adjust your scope to line up the chevrons at various distances once you zero your 20 yard main reticle. As far as arrows go, Black Eagle Zombie Slayers are very good, and the wraps don't really seem to hinder speed in my opinion.
These are my hunting arrows for my Matrix 380.

[url=https://postimg.cc/VJPm3X03]Image
It’s not the way you rock, it’s the way that you roll!
racking up points

Post by racking up points »

I’m a man of wealth and taste.

Pleased to meet you, hope you guessed my name!
Leupold Optics
Boo Custom Strings
Black Eagle Arrows
Ti64.com Fastener Kits
Boo

Post by Boo »