Newbie hoping for some guidance

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

jay1972

Newbie hoping for some guidance

Post by jay1972 »

Hello everybody,

i am relatively new to bow hunting and was lucky enough to harvest my first Blacktail last season
My current setup is a bulldog 380 shooting 475gr approx 340fps and worked great

So here is my question

1) i was thinking of upgrading to a bulldog 440 and shoot approx 450gr
maximizing for my forever bow

I've heard about the possible Limb problems and understand the risk but feel if im using a heavy arrow it should reduce the risk and give me a little extra insurance. Giving me almost 160 ft/lb kinetic energy.

my second question is
i have a opportunity to purchase a bulldog 400 is it worth it or should i just stick with my 380?

i understand most people have been suggesting the micro series except I'm not a small man and find i cant get enough eye relief and the bows feel really small when i shoulder them
does anybody have any suggestion on extending the stock?

also any ideas of getting a adjustabke cheek piece

sorry for all the questions
"Learn from yesterday, live for today, hope for tomorrow. The important thing is not to stop questioning."
Albert Einstein

"Learn how to see. Realize that everything connects to everything else."
Leonardo da Vinci
janesy

Re: Newbie hoping for some guidance

Post by janesy »

Hey welcome!

Honest answer, stick with what you've got. Definitely no "Need" to go 400. Outside of wanting one.
440 is a beast, but it's gonna take everything to the next level, harder on strings, targets, arrow... You. Louder, more vibrations, heavier.
The BD380 is a sweet setup. I'd stick with it. The blacktail will not know the difference.

Regarding the micro, all the micro bulldog setups use the exact same stock as you have now. None of the dimensions change. There is a newer stock design as well from Stryker, but dimensionally it's identical.