Arrow length for hunting - state regs

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

Nitro

Arrow length for hunting - state regs

Post by Nitro »

I'm new to crossbows. My Mag 340 came with 16.5 " bolts. I see on the Excalibur website that of the 10 crossbows offered, 9 come with 16.5 inchers. But the State of CT requires 18 inch for hunting. I emailed them, and after mentioning what I found on the Excalibur website, I asked them to please explain why the 16.5's are inadequate.

Here's the reply, "Bolt lengths must be 18 inches or greater in CT because while shorter bolts can reach impressive speeds they lack kinetic energy based on their weight with common factory built bolts. Also as an arrow or bolt is shortened the spine of the arrow becomes stiffer, there is a point in which an arrow will not flex enough to reliably fly straight (nock directly following point). The bow or crossbow may still be accurate but while the arrow/bolt is in flight the nock’s travel deviating from the point’s will negatively affect penetration on game animals.

Any thoughts on this?
DuckHunt

Re: Arrow length for hunting - state regs

Post by DuckHunt »

Nitro wrote:
Fri Apr 14, 2023 8:25 am
Any thoughts on this?
It's an example of someone who doesn't know better making regulations for the rest of us. Or worse, they intentionally want to hamper crossbow users as much as they can. The initial regulation in WV when they finally allowed full inclusion of crossbows during archery season was quite similar. It required bolts at least 18" in length. It took a few years, but we eventually were able to get the regulation changed to a 16" minimum length.
Nitro wrote:
Bolt lengths must be 18 inches or greater in CT because while shorter bolts can reach impressive speeds they lack kinetic energy based on their weight with common factory built bolts.